11 June 2014

Dorset Yeomanry (Queen's Own) 1908-1914

This post will look at numbering in the Dorset Yeomanry (Queen’s Own) between 1908 and 1914.

The regiment
was founded in 1794 as the Dorsetshire Regiment of Volunteer Yeomanry Cavalry and by 1914 had undergone several name changes. It was headquartered at Sherborne and formed part of the 1st South Western Mounted Brigade. The four squadrons and drill stations were distributed as follows:

A Squadron: Dorchester, with drill stations at Bridport, Weymouth, Maiden Newton and Charmouth
B Squadron: Sherborne, with drill stations at Yeovil and Pulham
C Squadron: Blandford, with drill stations at Wimborne, Wareham and Handley
D Squadron: Gillingham, with drill stations at Shaftesbury, Stalbridge and Sturminster Newton

The regiment started numbering from 1 in April 1908, those men transferring from the Dorsetshire Imperial Yeomanry (Queen’s Own) being issued with new numbers. The majority of 1908 enlistments were men who had formerly served in the Imperial Yeomanry.

122 joined on 1st April 1908
173 joined on 2nd February 1909
426 joined on 10th February 1910
483 joined on 31st January 1911
552 joined on 24th January 1912
658 joined on 22nd March 1913
724 joined on 5th February1914
800 joined on 7th August 1914
1011 joined on 10th September 1914

In September 1914 the 2/1st Dorset Yeomanry was formed, later converting into a cyclist unit in 1916. A 3/1st unit was formed in 1915 which remained in the UK until disbanded in 1917. All three units drew their regimental numbers from the same series.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles