11 June 2014

Royal North Devon Yeomanry 1908-1914

This post will look at numbering in the Royal North Devon Yeomanry between 1908 and 1914.

By 1914 The regiment, headquartered at Barnstaple and forming part of the 2nd South Western Mounted Brigade, was distributed as follows:

A Squadron: Holsworthy, with drill stations at Black Torrington, Hetherleigh, Bratton Clovelly, Woodford Bridge and Bradworthy
B Squadron: Barnstaple, with drill stations at Atherington, Bratton Fleming, Blackmoor Gate, Fremington, Swimbridge, West Down, Braunton
C Squadron: South Molton, with drill stations at West Buckland, Molland, Chittlehampton, Sandyway, Ashreigney and Chumleigh
D Squadron: Torrington, with drill stations at Woolsery, Langtree, Parkham, High Bickington, Bideford and Roborough   

The regiment started numbering from 1 in April 1908, those men transferring from the Royal North Devonshire Imperial Yeomanry being issued with new numbers. The majority of 1908 enlistments were men who had formerly served in the Imperial Yeomanry.

327 joined on 30th April 1908
444 joined on 24th February 1909
565 joined on 31st January 1910
631 joined on 6th January 1911
727 joined on 31st January 1912
829 joined on 17th February 1913
936 joined on 25th February1914
991 joined on 8th August 1914
1155 joined on 2nd October 1914

In September 1914 the 2/1st Royal North Devon Yeomanry was formed, and in due course a 3/1st was formed in 1915. All three units drew their regimental numbers from the same series.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles