14 June 2014

Lanarkshire Yeomanry 1908-1914

The Lanarkshire Yeomanry was another one of those Territorial Force formations administered by more than one County Association and as such it operated two distinct number series.

The Lanark Association was responsible for the administration of the Lanarkshire Yeomanry Headquarters (situated at Lanark) and three squadrons: A Squadron (Douglas), B Squadron (Lanark) and C Squadron (Coatbridge). Its numbers began at 1 in 1908; samples as follows:

80 joined on 23rd May 1908
185 joined on 1st April 1909
347 joined on 14th January 1911
474 joined on 27th April 1912
564 joined on 5th April 1913
660 joined on 11th April 1914
707 joined on 3rd September 1914
947 joined on 18th November 1914

The Dumfries Association administered D Squadron (Dumfries) and its numbering started from 2000 in 1908:

2030 joined on 5th June 1908
2097 joined on 23th March 1909
2110 joined on 12th March 1910
2156 joined on 5th May 1911
2168 joined on 24th February 1912
2196 joined on 22nd March 1913
2218 joined on 19th May 1914
2224 joined on 7th September 1914
2308 joined on 30th September 1914

Both number series appear to have been continued up until 1917 when, with the re-numbering of the Territorial Force as a whole, men serving in the Lanarkshire Yeomanry were issued with new numbers within the range 35001-40000.

Two reserve units, the 2/1st and 3/1st, were formed during the First World War and these drew their numbers from the same series above.

Lanarkshire Yeomanry cap badge borrowed from the Scottish Regimental Badges website, with thanks.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles