25 June 2014

Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry 1908-1914

This post will look at numbering in the Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry between 1908 and 1914.

The Westmorland and Cumberland Yeomanry saw no need to start a new regimental numbering system from April 1908 and simply continued with the series that had been in use for years previously. Most of the enlistments in 1908 were men who were already serving as Imperial Yeomen.

By 1914 the regiment was headquartered at Penrith with its four squadrons disposed as follows:

A Squadron: Kendal, with drill stations at Carnforth, Kirkby Lonsdale, Ulverston & Windermere
B Squadron: Penrith, with drill stations at Keswick, Temple Sowerby and Cockermouth 
C Squadron: Whitehaven, with drill stations at Workington, Maryport and Barrow-in-Furness 
D Squadron: Carlisle, with drill stations at Wigton and Aleton

The regiment formed part of the Welsh Border Mounted Brigade which was administered from Shrewsbury.

1623 joined on 11th April 1908
1710 joined on 6th January 1909
1778 joined on 15th February 1910
1856 joined on 27th January 1911
2056 joined on 23rd November 1912
2094 joined on 1st February 1913
2221 joined on 3rd March 1914
2252 joined on 5th August 1914
2273 joined on 10th September 1914
2472 joined on 9th October 1914
2600 joined on 2nd November 1914
2788 joined on 8th December 1914

Two reserve units, the 2/1st and 3/1st, were formed during the First World War and both drew their numbers from the same series above.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles