12 June 2014

Glamorgan Yeomanry 1908-1914

This post will look at numbering in the Glamorgan Yeomanry between 1908 and 1914.

The regiment, which started numbering from 1 in 1901
was headquartered at Bridgend and formed part of the South Wales Mounted Brigade. Its four squadrons were disposed as follows:

A Squadron: Swansea
B Squadron: Bridgend
C Squadron: Cardiff
D Squadron: Pontypridd

445 joined on 27th May 1908
990 joined on 6th January 1909
1122 joined on 18th April 1910
1196 joined on 15th March 1911
1242 joined on 1st April 1912
1265 joined on 27th February 1913
1354 joined on 1st May 1914
1464 joined on 8th August 1914
1730 joined on 18th September 1914

In September 1914 the 2/1st Glamorgan Yeomanry was formed, later converting into a cyclist unit in November 1917. A 3/1st unit was formed in 1915 which remained in the UK until disbanded in 1917. All three units drew their regimental numbers from the same series.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles