15 June 2014

Nothumberland Hussars 1908-1914

In common with The Lanarkshire Yeomanry, and others, the Northumberland Hussars was administered by more than one County Association and as such it operated two distinct number series.

The Northumberland Association was responsible for the administration of the Northumberland Hussars Headquarters (situated at Northumberland Road, Newcastle-upon-Tyne) and three squadrons: A Squadron (Newcastle-upon-Tyne), B Squadron (South Shields) and C Squadron (Morpeth). It started numbering from 1 in 1908.

33 joined on 4th May 1908
264 joined on 29th April 1909
471 joined on 19th March 1911
522 joined on 1st June 1912
537 joined on 4th March 1913
632 joined on 11th March 1914
686 joined on 6th January 1914
748 joined on 6th August 1914
814 joined on 3rd September 1914
1210 joined on 8th October 1914
1363 joined on 4th November 1914

The Durham Association administered D Squadron (Hexham) and the earliest number I have is 2000 on 2nd May 1908.

2129 joined in February 1910
2160 joined on 1st April 1911
2184 joined on 1st March 1912
2209 joined on 1st January 1913
2262 joined on 20th May 1914

This second series appears to have been discontinued by August 1914.

Two reserve units, the 2/1st and 3/1st, were formed during the First World War and these drew their numbers from the Northumberland Association series above.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles