16 June 2014

Nottinghamshire Yeomanry (Sherwood Rangers) 1908-1914

This post will look at numbering in the Nottinghamshire Yeomanry (Sherwood Rangers) between 1908 and 1914.

The regiment can trace its origins back to 1794 when it was raised as the Nottinghamshire Yeomanry Cavalry and when it became the Nottinghamshire Yeomanry (Sherwood Rangers) in 1908, it continued with the numbering series it had used when it was the Sherwood Rangers Imperial Yeomanry. Most of the men who joined in 1908 were former Imperial Yeoman - joining the newly constituted regiment with their old Imperial Yeomanry numbers. For example, 941 Edward Pogmore joined on the 12th May1908 but his number dates to over two years earlier - 9th January 1906 - when he joined the Imperial Yeomanry.

By 1914 the Sherwood Rangers were headquartered at Retford, with its four companies disposed as follows:

A Squadron: Newark, with drill stations at Sutton-on-Trent and Collingham
B Squadron: Mansfield, with drill stations at Chesterfield, Alfreton, Pinxton and Kirkby-in-Ashfield
C Squadron: Worksop, with drill stations at Clumber and Normanton
D Squadron: Retford, with drill stations at Ranskill, Trent Port, Melton Ross and Misterton

The regiment formed part of the Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Mounted Brigade which was administered from Nottingham.

1186 joined on 9th January 1909
1459 joined on 11th July 1910
1489 joined on 20th January 1911
1576 joined on 26th January1912
1665 joined on 20th February 1913
1811 joined on 21st February1914
1860 joined on 3rd August 1914
1941 joined on 11th September 1914
2346 joined on 16th November 1914

Two reserve units, the 2/1st and 3/1st, were formed during the First World War and both drew their numbers from the same series above.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles