10 June 2014

Royal 1st Devonshire Yeomanry 1908-1914

This post will look at numbering in the Royal 1st Devonshire Yeomanry between 1908 and 1914.

By 1914 The Royal 1st Devonshire Yeomanry, headquartered at 9 Dix's Field, Exeter, and forming part of the 2nd South Western Mounted Brigade, was distributed as follows:

A Squadron: Thorverton, with drill stations at Crediton, Tiverton, Rackenford, Cullompton and Bampton.
B Squadron: Ottery St Mary, with drill stations at Exmouth, Exeter, Axminster, Sidmouth and Dawlish.
C Squadron: Totnes, with drill stations at Moreton Hampstead, Bovey Tracey, Newton Abbot, Dartmouth, Kingsbridge and Plymouth.
D Squadron: Bodmin, with drill stations at Launceston, Camelford, Liskeard, Truro, Helston and Penzance.

The regiment did not start numbering from 1 in April 1908 but instead continued with the numbering sequence that had been in use when it had been the Royal 1st Devon Imperial Yeomanry.

891 joined on the 25th April 1908
1767 joined on 22nd January 1909
1907 joined on 30th April 1910
1939 joined on 24th January 1911
2068 joined on 7th March 1912
2137 joined on 14th January 1913
2266 joined on 5th March 1914
2309 joined on 7th August 1914
2506 joined on 7th September 1914
2546 joined on 6th October 1914
2840 joined on 20th November 1914

A 2/1st regiment had been formed in September 1914 and a 3/1st unit would be formed in 1915. All three formations shared the same regimental numbering sequence.

Image from the Royal Devon Yeomanry Museum collection borrowed from the Army Museums Ogilby Trust.

I also offer a comprehensive, fast and cost-effective military history research service. Follow the link for more information.

No comments:

Grab a book bargain - 1000s of titles